Friday, October 17, 2008

Old Maid Status

My birthday was on Monday. I turned 22. Yikes. I know people do not consider this old when they are older than this, but to my formerly 21 year old self, 22 was really grown up. I have thought about why I feel this way, and I think it is mostly because now all the "now I can do something I couldn't do before" birthdays are gone. Now all I get is another year older, no new privalages. (With the exception of 35, when I become eligible to run for president.) That seems very grown up. When my grandaddy called to wish me a happy birthday he said "I was about to get married when I was 22, but your grandmother was still only 21." Thanks for that. I am now an old maid.


On the plus side, I definitely got some super cute presents! Cory got me a bunch of things I wanted, but I had no idea he knew I wanted them. For instance there was the cutest little jewelry organizer at Hand Picked that was green with white polka dots and then it would have your initial on it in pink that I totally wanted and told no one. Well, he totally got it for me and now all my jewelry is nice and organized. I think he believes this will help me to get ready faster, but actually now that I can actually see all my things, it is going to take much more time for me to choose between them. :) He also got me this really cute silverware that I wanted from Target. We had looked at it before because all the silverware I have now is Naomi's and she is about to leave, but I had not really pointed this one out as my favorite. One thing about me is that I do normally have a preference about things, but a lot of the time I give off very mixed signals about it. I like having other opinions to help me because I am really afraid of making the wrong choice. Anyway, he also got me the coolest collapsable strainer and some jewelry. He is really too good to me. :) I know a lot of women are not into the whole getting useful things for special occasions, but I LOVE it. I seriously asked for (and got) a vacuum tow years ago for Christmas. I think it is just because that is my personality. I like things to be clean and I love to make things. I think I would be so good at living on a farm. Maybe not, one thing I do not like is poo (and being woken up by noises I do not like). My parents got me this super snazzy sewing machine that I am SO excited to use! When I was a little girl, Granny would make me the most beautiful things (clothes for my barbies and a bridal gown covered in lace for Halloween when I was 5. Seriously, I was probably the luckliest little girl EVER) and I've always wanted to be able to sew as well. Hopefully I will get the time to actually take it out of the box soon! I am looking forward to Christmas break when I will have the chance to be all crafty, hopefully. I have so many pictures to scraptbook and so many cool new tools thanks so Teffy that I am really looking forward to it! I am going to be moving sometime next month as soon as I can find a place so one of the first things I want to do is make some curtains (If my Papa can do it, so can I). Hopefully it will turn out well.

I have so much more to report, but alas, I started this on October 28th and it is now November 8th. Blast myself for thinking I would have time to make this way better over the past 11 days. I should have known I was a very busy girl! I will try to update again soon, but like I said I am very busy so I make no promises! :)

I just really liked this picture I took of Cory

My first ever NEW car! (It's a Mazda 3)

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Emily In Real Life

Oh gee wiz and good golly gosh. I am about to loose my mind I think. Right now school and work are in DESTROY EMILY mode making everything all topsy turvey. I really was not planning on working this far into the semester, but several things have caused my plans to go awry. Firstly, my boss likes me too much and was very slack on the whole getting a replacement for me thing. Secondly, when they finally did hire someone two weeks ago I was super happy for about a week until she quit quite unexpectedly. Thirdly, the new girl who started today has never before been in the apartment biz so now I am basically training her. Fourthly, my boss is now on a two week hiatus so we are all going to be stressed explaining to everyone that while we understand how much they would like to talk with Trevor, it is just not possible (those types of conversations never go well). Fifthly, I have some crazy sense of obligation which seems to make me more willing to slowly watch my own demise than say "I'm sorry, but this is just a little too much." So basically, I am juggling 18 hours of work a week (which maybe does not sound like a lot but it is basically 18 hours of me stressing about homework I need to do but can't), 6 classes, church, family, boyfriend responsibilites and also trying not to become a human blob of junk food (I have a love/hate relationship with Halloween). On the up side, Cory and I did go to Biltmore (America's Largest Home, for those not in the know) two weeks ago and it was absolutely lovely. We got to examine gargoyles, watch a sheepdog herd some ducks, and other exciting things. I'll post a couple of pictures from that. The sad thing about having a romatic day trip is that you never get good pictures of the two of you. Oh well, some sacrifices must be made I suppose. I have some other news about my book club I just started, Naomi's bridal shower I am planning (any good ideas?) and a few other adventures but they will have to wait until next time.

Cory and his best friend are in a beard growing contest with each other and no, I don't like it. But alas, boys will be boys, or men as they like to call themselves. :)